DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION SUMMARY:
Ohio prohibits an individual from operating a motor vehicle if that individual’s operating license has been suspended or if the operation of the vehicle violates a restriction placed on the individual’s operating license.
DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION IN OHIO:
Driving under suspension or in violation of a license restriction is a Misdemeanor of the 1st degree. This charge carries a maximum penalty of up to a $1,000 fine and 180 days in jail. The court may also impose a class 7 suspension of the offender’s license. This level of suspension carries a definite period of suspension not to exceed one year. R.C. 4510.11 http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4510.11 is Ohio’s “Driving Under Suspension or in Violation of License Restriction” statute.
Driving under OVI suspension carries harsher penalties. Driving under OVI suspension is usually a Misdemeanor of the 1st degree. The offender faces a mandatory three days in jail, minimum $250 fine, a one-year license suspension, and 30-day immobilization of the vehicle being operated. The penalties may be even more severe if the offender has been convicted of this same crime in the past. R.C. 4510.14 http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4510.14 is Ohio’s “Driving Under OVI Suspension” statute.
If you are charged with driving under suspension or in violation of a license restriction, the burden is on the state to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were in fact driving and that your license was suspended at the time you were driving.
CALL ZUKERMAN ABOUT DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION CASES:
The attorneys at Zukerman, Lear & Murray Co., L.P.A. know that restrictions on your ability to drive disrupt every aspect of your life. Zukerman, Lear & Murray Co., L.P.A. has extensive experience dealing with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles in driving under suspension cases and will do everything in its power to fight driving under suspension charges and help you get back your driver’s license.